Planning, construction and operation of aquaponic farm systems

ECF FARMSYSTEMS

ecf_gründer_nl_ce_1.jpg

We plan, build and operate aquaponic farms for sustainable food production in the city.

According to WWF and the UN, 17-35% of global CO2 emissions result from agriculture and food processing. In addition, 70% of the world's freshwater is consumed in the process. Already today, over 1 billion people depend on fish as a source of protein, while 85% of the world's oceans are overfished or about to be. Food often travels long distances from production to consumer. Cold chains and transport by plane cause considerable amounts of CO2.

By combining aquaculture (fish farming) and hydroponics (growing vegetables & herbs in water), we produce our food with reduced water & resource consumption.

 

The urban location also shortens transport routes and cold chains. In this way, our farms protect the environment and ensure fresh products on supermarket shelves. 

 

We have now established 4 farms in Berlin, Wiesbaden, Bad Ragaz (CH) and Brussels. We run the farms in Berlin and Wiesbaden ourselves. Further farms are already being planned.

 

 

 

HIGHLIGHTS

2021

First REWE rooftop farm by ECF Farmsystems

In May 2021 we opened our fourth large farm. After Berlin, Bad Ragaz (CH) and Brussels, it's now off to Wiesbaden, on the roof of the new and sustainable REWE GREEN FARMING supermarket. Fresh perch and crunchy herbs, now Urban Farming comes to Hesse...! #freshfromtheroof

farm-2.jpg
REWE roof farm during construction work

2020

German Sustainability Award 2021

ECF Farmsystems has won the German Sustainability Award 2021 in the category "Pioneers of Change in Business".

In cooperation with the German government, the best concepts against global warming, overuse of resources, species extinction and social division were awarded. Honorary prizes were awarded to the British singer Sir Elton John, US futurologist Jeremy Rifkin, musician Joy Denalane and singer-songwriter Jack Johnson. Prof. Ugur Sahin and Dr Özlem Türeci were honoured for developing the first Corona vaccine.

The award to ECF Farmsystems was presented by former German President Christian Wulff.

1613571199230.jpg
Award ceremony DNP2021 to Nicolas Leschke (ECF)

2020

ByeByePlastik - The capital city basil in plastic-free packaging

The reduction of plastic packaging is on everyone's lips. That's why we are very happy to have found a solution to bring the capital city basil to the man (m/f/d) completely without plastic. In 2020, we replaced the plastic sleeve with a chic bag made of recycled paper. The special thing is that the basil is in the bag without a plastic pot. Simply cut off at all the dotted lines and the bag becomes a pot substitute! This way we collectively save about 7,000 kg of plastic every year. Optionally, clip a paper clip to the right and left of the bag to make it a tight-fitting pot. This way the soil does not dry out so quickly.

1615997958761.jpg
The new plastic-free packaging of the capital city basilica

2014

Construction and commissioning of the ECF Farm Berlin

In 2014, ECF Farmsystems built Europe's largest inner-city aquaponics farm, the ECF FARM BERLIN. ECF now produces about 450,000 units of CAPITAL CITY BASIL and about 5to of CAPITAL CITY PEARCH annually in the 1,800m2 facility. The main customer is REWE Region Ost with approx. 260 supermarkets. In addition, a small part of the products is distributed via a farm shop on the farm and via delivery service to local gastronomy and catering.

ecf_gründer_nl_ce_1.jpg
ECF founders Christian Echternacht & Nicolas Leschke in front of the ECF Farm Berlin

2013

Oscar award at the Cleantech Open in Silicon Valley

ECF Farmsystems was awarded 2 Oscars in 2013 at the "Cleantech Open", the world's largest startup event in the American Silicon Valley: for the best startup in the field of "Agriculture, Water, Waste" and for the best startup "International". At the same time, ECF Farmsystems was awarded the coveted audience prize. 

ecf.winners_price1.png
ECF founders Nicolas Leschke & Christian Echternacht at the award ceremony in Silicon Valley

Planung, Bau und Betrieb von aquaponischen Farmsystemen

ECF FARMSYSTEMS

ecf_gründer_nl_ce_1.jpg

Wir planen, bauen und betreiben aquaponische Farmen zur nachhaltigen Lebensmittelproduktion in der Stadt.

 

Laut WWF und UN resultieren 17-35% der weltweiten CO2-Emmissionen aus Landwirtschaft und Lebensmittelverarbeitung. Zusätzlich werden dabei 70% des weltweiten genutzten Süßwassers verbraucht. Schon heute sind über 1Mrd. Menschen von Fisch als Proteinquelle abhängig, hingegen sind 85% der Weltmeere überfischt oder stehen kurz davor. Lebensmittel legen oft weite Wege von der Produktion zum Verbraucher zurück. Kühlketten und der Transport mit dem Flugzeug verursachen beträchtliche Mengen CO2.

Durch die Kombination von Aquakultur (Fischaufzucht) und Hydroponik (Gemüse- & Kräuteranbau in Wasser) produzieren wir unsere Lebensmittel mit reduziertem Wasser- & Ressourcenverbrauch. Die urbane Lage verkürzt zudem Transportwege und Kühlketten. So schonen unsere Farmen die Umwelt und sorgen für frische Produkte im Supermarktregal. 

 

Mittlerweile haben wir 4 Farmen in Berlin, Wiesbaden, Bad Ragaz (CH) und Brüssel errichtet. Die Farmen in Berlin und Wiesbaden betreiben wir selber. Weitere Farmen sind bereits in Planung.

HIGHLIGHTS

2021

Erste REWE Dachfarm by ECF Farmsystems

Im Mai 2021 haben wir unsere vierte große Farm eröffnet. Nach Berlin, Bad Ragaz (CH) und Brüssel geht es jetzt nach Wiesbaden, auf das Dach des neuen und nachhaltigen REWE GREEN FARMING Supermarktes. Frischer Barsch und knackige Kräuter, jetzt kommt Urban Farming nach Hessen..! #frischvomdach

farm-2.jpg
REWE Dachfarm während der Bauarbeiten

2020

Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitspreis 2021

ECF Farmsystems hat den Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitspreis 2021 in der Kategorie „Wegbereiter des Wandels in der Wirtschaft“ gewonnen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Bundesregierung wurden die besten Konzepte gegen Erderwärmung, Ressourcenübernutzung, Artensterben und gesellschaftliche Spaltung prämiert. Ehrenpreise erhielten der britische Sänger Sir Elton John, US-Zukunftsforscher Jeremy Rifkin, die Musikerin Joy Denalane und Singer-Songwriter Jack Johnson. Prof. Ugur Sahin und Dr. Özlem Türeci wurden für die Entwicklung des ersten Corona-Impfstoffes geehrt.

Der Preis an ECF Farmsystems wurde von Bundespräsident a.D. Christian Wulff verliehen.

1613571199230.jpg
Preisverleihung DNP2021 an Nicolas Leschke (ECF)

2020

ByeByePlastik - Das Hauptstadtbasilikum in plastikfreier Verpackung

Die Reduzierung von Plastikverpackungen ist in aller Munde. Deshalb freuen wir uns sehr eine Lösung gefunden zu haben, um das Hauptstadtbasilikum gänzlich ohne Plastik an den Mann (m/w/d) zu bringen. 2020 haben wir den Plastiksleeve durch eine schicke Tüte aus Recyclingpapier ersetzt. Das Besondere ist, dass das Basilikum ohne Plastiktopf in der Tüte steckt. Einfach an allen gestrichelten Linien abschneiden, und die Tüte wird zum Topfersatz! Dadurch sparen wir gemeinsam jährlich ca. 7.000 kg Plastik ein. Klemme optional rechts und links eine Büroklammer an die Tüte, um sie zu einem eng anliegenden Topf zu machen. So trocknet die Erde nicht so schnell aus.

1615997958761.jpg
Die neue plastikfreie Verpackung des Hauptstadtbasilikums

2014

Bau und Inbetriebnahme der ECF Farm Berlin

2014 errichtete ECF Farmsystems Europas größte innerstädtische Aquaponik-Farm, die ECF FARM BERLIN. Mittlerweile produziert ECF in der 1.800m2 großen Anlage jährlich ca. 400.000 Einheiten HAUPTSTADTBASILIKUM und ca. 5to HAUPTSTADTBARSCH. Hauptabnehmer ist die REWE Region Ost mit ca. 260 Supermärkten. Zusätzlich wird ein kleiner teil der Produkte über einen Hofladen in der Farm sowie per Lieferservice an lokale Gastronomie und Catering vertrieben.

ecf_gründer_nl_ce_1.jpg
ECF Gründer Christian Echternacht & Nicolas Leschke vor der ECF Farm Berlin

2013

Oscar Prämierung bei den Cleantech Open im Silicon Valley

ECF Farmsystems wurde 2013 bei den „Cleantech Open“, dem weltweit größten Startup Event im amerikanischen Silicon Valley, mit 2 Oscars ausgezeichnet: für das beste Startup im Bereich „Agriculture, Water, Waste“ und für das beste Startup „International“. Gleichzeitig wurde ECF Farmsystems mit dem begehrten Publikumspreis ausgezeichnet. 

ecf.winners_price1.png
ECF Gründer Nicolas Leschke & Christian Echternacht bei der Preisverleihung im Silicon Valley